Dear Sisters and Brothers:

We are proud to announce that we have reached a tentative agreement with Montgomery County.

This agreement is for one-year and includes:

2.4% GWA/Cost of Living for eligible bargaining unit members

3.5% Service Increment for eligible bargaining unit members on their anniversary date

Additional 3.5% service increment for bargaining unit members who are not currently at the top of the pay grade and were eligible for the postponed FY11 service increment 

Seasonal Employees will receive either a $.25 per hour raise or the Montgomery County minimum wage, whichever is greater

Continued negotiations on seasonal wage compression

Additional 2.5% longevity increment for Deputy Sheriffs and Correctional Officers

Members ineligible for a service increment still receive a $1,200 one-time bonus + 2.4% GWA/Cost of Living 

Increases in tuition assistance

…and more.

The agreement can be found here and it is tentative until it is ratified by the membership and approved by County Council. Please note that the appendices and side letters are specific to certain departments or divisions and/or subject matters.

Due to the complexity of this agreement and the need to have a candid internal conversation regarding the challenges that lie ahead, we have suspended mail balloting. We encourage everyone to attend one of the 12 meetings scheduled throughout the County where the union will be available to answer any questions on the tentative agreement.

You will be given two (2) hours of administrative leave to attend a ratification meeting; administrative leave forms will be provided at the conclusion of the meetings.

This is your Union and your contract; make sure your voice is heard.


I would like to extend a special thanks to the members of the bargaining team for their dedication and tireless advocacy on behalf of the entire Montgomery County bargaining unit:


Quashawn Anderson

Beverley Bierman

Jennifer Clavell

Audra Dugue

Derek Haber

Rachel Jones

Jose Rivera

Clint Sobratti

Conor Toole 

Valerie Whitby


Nancy Austin

Anthony Cash

McDonald Davis

Richard Esposito

Brenda Hartwig

Kermit Leibensperger

Ja Rowe

Rozanne Tedder

Michael Trigiani

Katie Wiltshire

Joshua Bernstein

John Chaney

Leonette Brown

EJ Haapala

Michael Hecht

Dennis Mackabee

John Smoak

Maynard Thorn

Kathleen Uy 

Everett Wolf

We will be returning to the bargaining table this fall. You have our commitment to continue to fight for progress in all areas of your employment. We look forward to seeing you at a meeting and appreciate your participation. 

In solidarity,
Gino Renne
President, UFCW Local 1994 MCGEO
Vice President, UFCW International Union 
*You must be a member to cast a vote. If you are not a member, you can fill out a membership application at meetings prior to voting.
FY20 Tentative Agreement Meeting Schedule

Informational Meetings will be held at the following locations April 8-April 12, 2019.

Members will be permitted to vote at any meeting.

Monday, April 8, 2019
Upper County Government Ctr
12900 Middlebrook Road
Room D
HHS – 1301 Piccard
1301 Piccard Drive
Conference Rm A, B & C
Rockville Library
21 Maryland Avenue
1st Floor Conference Room
Tuesday, April 9, 2019
DHCA • MC311
1401 Rockville Pike
Room 1002
16700 Crabbs Branch Way
2nd Floor Training Room
Colesville Highway
14336 Cape May Road
Silver Spring
Lunch Room
Wednesday, April 10, 2019
Dennis Avenue
2000 Dennis Avenue
Silver Spring
Room 1100
Recreation Headquarters
4010 Randolph Rd, SS
Gaithersburg East & West
7000 Crabbs Branch Way, R’ville
Lunch Room
Thursday, April 11, 2019
255 Rockville Pike
Strathmore Conference Room
Edison Park Drive
100 Edison Park Drive
1st Floor Conference Room
SS Highway
8710 Brookeville Rd Bldg A
Silver Spring
Lunch Room
Ratification Voting will be held at the following locations April 11-12, 2019: 

*Members are encouraged to use the most convenient voting site.*

Thursday, April 11, 2019

Emergency Communications Center
1300 Quince Orchard Blvd
6:30pm – 7:30pm

Friday April 12, 2019
Montgomery County Detention Center
Main Lobby
1307 Seven Locks Road, R’ville
6:30am – 8:30am 
2:00pm – 3:30PM
Montgomery County Correctional Facility
Main Lobby
22880 Whelan Lane, Boyds
6:30am – 8:30am
2:00pm – 3:30pm
DLC Warehouse
Shop Floor
201 Edison Park Drive, R’ville
7:00am – 8:00am
9:00am – 10:30am
4:00pm – 5:00pm
Nicholson Court Ride-On
Drivers Lounge
4925 Nicholson Court, Kensington
4:00am – 3:00pm
Pre-Release Center
Blue Conference Room
11651 Nebel Street, R’ville
3:00pm – 4:30pm
Silver Spring Ride-On
Drivers' Lounge
8710 Brookeville Road, SS
4:00am – 3:00pm
Sheriff Office
Main Area
50 Maryland Avenue, R’ville
8:00am – 7:00pm
Gaithersburg Ride-On
Drivers Lounge
16700 Crabbs Branch Way, R’ville
4:00am – 3:00pm

Emergency Communications Center
1300 Quince Orchard Blvd., G’burg
6:30am – 7:30am
6:30pm – 7:30pm


Administrative Leave will only be provided to individuals attending meetings.

*You must be a member to cast a vote. If you are not a member, you can fill out a membership application prior to voting.

Members can also vote at the Union office April 8 – 12, 2019, at the following times:

Monday through Thursday — 9:00am – 5:00pm OR Friday — 9:00AM – 4:00PM

For questions or directions, call the UFCW Local 1994 MCGEO union office at 301-977-2447.

All ballots received during the informational meetings and at polling locations will be counted on Monday, April 15, 2019. Results will be posted on the website at

Your vote is your voice!